For words make my day and wordplay is my game…..

Tears behind my smile…

A tear for the kid by the
roadside,who yesterday jumped
before me and I wished to
hide,unwilling to help and filled
with pride,I thought of myself and
not his plight.

A tear for the old man I watched
bleed to death,after the careless cab driver caused his last breath,my hunger for the party couldn’t save his health,now looking back that guilt is my only wealth.

A tear for the beggar I ignored in
the streets,for I passed head high
irritated and avoiding the jingle of
his coins,I put myself in his shoes
and now it pains,the guilt hitting
hard like a hammer on my loins.

A tear for the lady I just called
bitch,for choices she made so sad
she wasn’t born rich,skimpily
dressed and employed by the streets cold,her hand is now all I wish to
hold,
A tear for the Turkana family that
knows no food,all the meals i threw to the bin I did no good,their haggard bony figures on the screen and now am glued,though deep inside we deserve to be booed,for their continuous suffering caused by me and you.

My tears flow deep inside,behind my smile is where they hide,the old man didn’t have to die,the young lady didn’t have to stay in the streets,the beggar didn’t have to plead and my fellow countrymen didnt deserve to die of hunger.If only we did something different

Everyday I look back and that guilt
is all i fight,Wish I could turn back
time and do things right,for now
the price of ignorance will always
haunt me.
For there will always be tears
behind my smile

@brayotieno ©2013

2 responses

  1. Nellie nevada

    Awesome stuff 🙂

    July 7, 2013 at 07:37

  2. Barbara Ikonanga

    Reallllllly good. :))))

    October 2, 2013 at 12:14

Leave a Reply

